Ehrenfest-Afanassjewa thesis award

The Ehrenfest-Afanassjewa thesis award is annually awarded by the Dutch Physics Council. The 2021 award recognizes an outstanding PhD thesis in the field of physics, defended at a Dutch university in the timeframe 1 September 2020 - 31 August 2021.

The prize is open to nominations in any subfield of physics, and for theoretical as well as experimental work. The winner receives € 5,000 and is invited to present his/her research at the national Physics@Veldhoven meeting in January 2022. The jury for the 2021 Ehrenfest-Afanassjewa thesis award includes:

    • Nynke Dekker
    • Robbert Dijkgraaf
    • Daan Frenkel
    • Theo Rasing
    • Wim van Saarloos
    • Barbara Terhal

Nominations are to be submitted electronically. The deadline is 1 October 2021.

For more information, rules & regulation go to the award page of the Dutch Physics Council website.