Award for outstanding young female or non-binary physicists


7 september 2021

Award for outstanding young female or non-binary physicists

Minerva Prize 2021

The Minerva Prize is awarded annually by the Dutch Physics Council to an outstanding young female or non-binary physicist in the Netherlands with an overall performance that scientifically excels in any subfield of physics.

Both experimental and theoretical scientific physics research carried out at Dutch universities, research institutes (incl. TO2 institutes), university medical centers, or at universities of applied sciences are taken into account.

The prize is a tribute, and the laureate serves as an inspiring example for others. The winner receives a sum of € 5,000 that can be spent as wished, together with a prize certificate, and is invited to present their research at a national meeting.

The Minerva Prize is a joint award by the Dutch Physics Council (DPC) and the Netherlands’ Physical Society (NNV) with the aim to support gender diversity in the Dutch physics community.

The selection committee for the 2021 Minerva Prize includes:

    • Petra Rudolf, RUG – chair
    • Alex Khajetoorians, RU
    • Andrea Baldi, VU
    • Gideon Koekoek, UM
    • Mireille Claessens, UT
    • Federica Burla – winner last Minerva Prize (2019)

The deadline for submitting nominations is 1 October 2021.

For more information, rules & regulation go to the award page of the Dutch Physics Council website.


Volg ons op YouTube

Bekijk onze video's over hightech innovaties en samenwerkingen. Abonneer je op ons YouTube-kanaal.